Mitch Kessler
Der Erlkonig

“...Kessler has again delivered an intricate and creative balance of songwriting and musicianship....demonstrate(s) an immediacy and beauty not heard in American jazz for awhile... Mitch Kessler is well on his way to establishing himself as a new force on the scene.” - Stephan Moore DMG


Der Erlkönig is Mitch Kessler’s second CD release on Sunjump Records and features eight new Kessler compositions, headed by his reading, with musical accompaniment, of the CD title poem by Göethe. The musicians are Mitch Kessler, flute, soprano, alto & tenor saxes, John Esposito, piano, Ira Coleman, bass and Peter O’Brien, drums.


New work by this prolific composer draws on his arsenal of Post Dolphy/Coltrane, Free Jazz, Early 20th Century German Expressionism, and the Blues.


Recorded April 10, 2011, and mixed and mastered by Scott Petito at NRS, Catskill, NY.

Cover art paintings by Monika Woll.

CD graphic design by Bruce Sconzo.